Executive News


ACHE Member Update

ACHE Call for Nominations for the 2023 Slate
ACHE’s 2022–2023 Nominating Committee is calling for applications for service beginning in 2023. ACHE Fellows are eligible for the Chair-Elect and Governor vacancies and are eligible for the Nominating Committee vacancies within their districts. Those interested in pursuing applications should review the candidate guidelines for the competencies and qualifications required for these important roles. Open positions on the slate include:

  • Nominating Committee Member, District 2 (two-year term ending in 2025)
  • Nominating Committee Member, District 3 (two-year term ending in 2025)
  • Nominating Committee Member, District 6 (two-year term ending in 2025)
  • Four Governors (three-year terms ending in 2026)
  • Chair-Elect

Please refer to the following district designations for the open positions:

  • District 2: District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, North Carolina, Puerto Rico & Virgin Islands, South Carolina, Virginia, West Virginia
  • District 3: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, Wisconsin
  • District 6: Air Force, Army, Navy, Veterans Affairs

Candidates for Chair-Elect and Governor should submit an application to serve that includes a copy of their resume and up to 10 letters of support. For details, please review the Candidate Guidelines, including guidance from the Board of Governors to the Nominating Committee regarding the personal competencies of Chair-Elect and Governor candidates and the composition of the Board of Governors.

Candidates for the Nominating Committee should only submit a letter of self-nomination and a copy of their resume.

Applications to serve and self-nominations must be submitted electronically to jnolan@ache.org and must be received by July 15. All correspondence should be addressed to Michael J. Fosina, FACHE, chair, Nominating Committee, c/o Julie Nolan, American College of Healthcare Executives, 300 S. Riverside Plaza, Ste. 1900, Chicago, IL 60606-6698.

The first meeting of ACHE’s 2022–2023 Nominating Committee will be held March 29 during the 2022 Congress on Healthcare Leadership in Chicago. The committee will be in open session at 2:45 p.m. During the meeting, the Nominating Committee will conduct an orientation session for potential candidates regarding the nominating process. Immediately following the orientation, an open forum will be provided for ACHE members to present and discuss their views of ACHE leadership needs.

Following the July 15 submission deadline, the committee will meet to determine which candidates for Chair-Elect and Governor will be interviewed. All candidates will be notified in writing of the committee’s decision by Sept. 30, and candidates for Chair-Elect and Governor will be interviewed in person Oct. 27.

Candidate Guidelines are available for review. If you have any questions, please contact Julie Nolan at (312) 424-9367 or jnolan@ache.org.

Thomas C. Dolan Executive Diversity Programs: Application Period Opens in Early March
The application period for the Thomas C. Dolan Executive Diversity and Career Accelerator Programs will be open from early March through mid-May. Both the Dolan EDP and CAP provide education, mentoring and networking experiences to prepare diverse leaders for higher-level positions in hospitals, health systems and other healthcare organizations. In 2022, the EDP program will consist of e-learning, including live and recorded webinars, self-study materials and three in-person sessions. The CAP will be exclusively virtual this year, consisting of 14 virtual live sessions. Dolan scholars are empowered through a structured curriculum and activities that cultivate strong leadership presence; sharpen expertise in diversity, equity and inclusion; build critical leadership skills; and expand one’s capacity to navigate career opportunities and challenges. Both programs are six months in duration.

The Dolan EDP has offered specialized leadership development for diverse leaders since it was established in 2014 by the Foundation of ACHE’s Fund for Healthcare Leadership to honor Thomas C. Dolan, who served as president and CEO of ACHE from 1991 to 2013. The program honors his long-standing service to the profession of healthcare leadership and furthers his strong commitment to achieving greater diversity among senior healthcare leaders. In 2021, the program was expanded with the addition of the CAP, designed for diverse mid-careerists to support their career advancement. For more information about the Executive Diversity and Career Accelerator Programs, visit ache.org/ExecutiveDiversity.

ACHE Staff News

2021 Pickert Award Winners Announced 
Steve M. Harris
, assistant director, applications, Department of Information Technology, and Belinda Roman, program coordinator, Career Resource Center, Department of Executive Engagement, are the 2021 winners of the Alton E. Pickert Award, which recognizes employees who have demonstrated significant service to ACHE and its members. 

The award was established by Anne M. Pickert to honor the memory of Alton E. Pickert, FACHE, ACHE Chair from 1983 to 1984. During his tenure, Pickert emphasized the important contributions of ACHE staff to the healthcare leadership field. Harris joined ACHE in 2019. Roman joined ACHE in 2011.

ACHE Staff Members Give Back to Community in 2021 
In 2021, ACHE’s staff members gave generously during the annual United Way of Metropolitan Chicago pledge drive. The team donated more than $8,200 for United Way of Metropolitan Chicago. When combined with a $3,000 donation from ACHE, the amount raised totaled over $11,200. 

ACHE Announces New Hire, Promotion 
Following are new hire and promotion announcements. 

Margarita G. Granados welcomed as events coordinator, Professional Development, Department of Learning.

Mary F. Howorth promoted to events coordinator, Professional Development, Department of Learning, from customer service representative, Department of Executive Engagement. 


In Memoriam

ACHE regretfully reports the deaths of the following ACHE members as reported by the Department of Executive Engagement:

Scott R. Breunig, MD
Pass Christian, Miss. 

Scott F. Madden, FACHE
Ann Arbor, Mich. 

Francisco D. Sabichi, FACHE

William G. Sisson, FACHE
Lexington, Ky. 

Mary Anne Weidner
San Antonio

Terry L. Varner
Water Valley, Miss.